Thinking Big

Published on

This month's big article was written for the 32-Bit Cafe's latest Code Jam which is as of the time of writing still ongoing. Originally intended as a small section of my article on motion ride simulation videos, it quickly grew in scope and size to the behemoth I present to you today. What's it about? IMAX movies on home video, with some asides about IMAX in general and an early 3D encoding for home use.

Have you heard of Dreamcastle before? These Vaporwave and Plunderphonics tracks evoke 90s and early 2000s Lego and Sega, two topics that speak to me very much. I believe they first came to my attention because of the elaborate custom cassette packaging they sent out to Lego YouTuber R.R. Slugger. The trailer for their new album also has to be seen to be believed.

To accompany my big article of the month, I have started a page that tries to get an overview of the entire nWave catalog, a Belgian animation studio. With these two efforts behind me, I hopefully can start expanding the motion ride simulator page in the future.